Charlie, you hero.

I haven’t written on here in a long time because – well, I’m completely useless. I haven’t had any inspiration to talk about anything. I’ve been up and down and all over the place recently. I promise to try and do better.

But something caught my eye tonight and gave me some inspiration; Charlie from Educating the East End. Charlie suffered from panic attacks and often didn’t make it to class, and with his GCSEs coming up, the teachers recommended he perform with his band at the school talent show to boost his confidence in crowds.

charlie

And wow, what an amazing kid to rock that Ed Sheeran song on stage whilst suffering from an anxiety disorder which prevented him from carrying out normal tasks. From struggling to sit in a class room to singing and playing guitar in front of 200 people in a matter of hours out of sheer determination to conquer what was holding him back, and because of the love and support from the two band mates and best friends he has (who I’d quite like to be my best friends too).

I also suffer with anxiety and it stops me doing things everyday. Things that look ridiculous to everyone else but are as real as a broken leg in my head. Anxiety is a horrific thing to live with because it’s irrational and noone understands it, including yourself, but it can be beaten.

Tomorrow I’m waking up with Charlie in mind. What a hero.

Watch it on 4od if you didn’t catch it tonight, he’s an incredible young man and by the end of the programme I had a massive cheesy grin on my face out of pride for him; I’m sure you will too.

You can accomplish anything you put your mind to.

love lauren x

One thought on “Charlie, you hero.

  1. Stefany says:

    Great post, I will definitely be reading his story! I suffer from anxiety as well, just nice to know there’s others out there who can understand! Hope you’re doing well today 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

