The relief that comes afterwards.

*Trigger warning*

Now for those of you that saw my post last week, I was incredibly nervous about my exams that were taking place this week.

I haven’t been attending classes because my agoraphobia has become so bad, and therefore I’m incredibly far behind. But on top of that, I also have the agoraphobia to contend with during the exams.

Let’s be real – My finance exam on Tuesday can get a big black cross through it. It sucked. If I passed, I’m surprised and I’ll be extremely happy with the lowest grade possible. Finance hasn’t ever been my strong point. I can’t retain numbers and the fact that I was so far behind with my attendance meant I stood no chance.

That’s OK though. Retakes aren’t the end of the world and I’m pretty much at peace with the idea for the first time in my life. I was going through a horrible time and it wasn’t something I’m naturally good at. Anyone else would have done just the same.

download (1)

Today though – I had my law exam. I’m not naturally good at law – remembering all the acts and latin terms isn’t my strong point (overall this semester wasn’t really my strong point as I’m sure you can tell!). But my biggest issue was the exam itself.

I’ve taken these exams in separate rooms to limit my anxiety and I’m really glad the university have been nice enough to let me do that. But today’s exam was taking place on the second floor. No big deal right? Except for someone with agoraphobia that’s a bloody long way from the door. I’m trapped.

But I did it. My heart was in my mouth. I felt like I was going to throw up and it took me half a bloody hour to walk up two flights of stairs without feeling the need to pass out.

But I did it. I sat through the two exam and I did it.

And do you know what, I did well. My last minute hectic revising worked, and they literally asked me everything I knew the answers to.

Occasionally, just occasionally, life cuts you some slack and you can achieve more than you thought you ever could.

  • Beat the anxiety
  • Most likely passed overall

tick

lovelauren

8 thoughts on “The relief that comes afterwards.

  1. Chitransh Waghmare says:

    Thanks for liking my post “Let’s Kill Cartoons” Thanks for stopping by. I wish I cold have visited your blog much earlier, Loved “The relief that comes afterwards” and “A letter to my brain”

    Will visit often !!!

    Good Luck… πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

