Day 29: If your mind was a house, what would the house look like?

31 Days of BPD
Please note that I also have Cyclothymia

myhouse

I’m aware that I’m brilliant on Paint, you don’t have to tell me…

Here’s my mind – as a house.

As soon as I saw this question I knew exactly what I was going to draw because I knew exactly what it would look like. It’s like my mind’s already thought about this metaphor at some point or another.

So the first two floors are cramped. It’s confusing and I feel trapped when I’m in them. It feels like there’s no way out and I’m beyond anxious – this is Depression.

When I climb the stairs further, I reach normality. I reach that haven of feeling just as everyone else. It’s simple here – so sometimes I choose to take a seat, but more often than not, I don’t, and I decide to keep climbing. My mind constantly searching for more.

This is when Hypomania kicks in. The party floor. The fantastic floor. It feels amazing. But noone is able to keep this state up for long. And so inevitably, I fall down the slide rapidly and hit rock bottom once again.

My brain needs to learn to just shutup and take a bloody seat.
lovelauren

10 thoughts on “Day 29: If your mind was a house, what would the house look like?

  1. theprettylittlesparrow says:

    Safe to say my house would look pretty dam similar! Just can’t find the balance between the floors like you say! Hypomania is horrible because you know eventually you have to come straight back down again! xx

    Like

  2. throughthetunnel42 says:

    If my mind was like a house it would like Hampton Court Maze, difficult to find my way round, but there is a path to freedom eventually

    Like

Leave a Reply

