Day 1 – No caffeine

“Caffeine is the most widely used mood-altering drug in the world,” says Roland Griffiths, PhD, a professor in the departments of psychiatry and neuroscience at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. “People often see coffee, tea, and soft drinks simply as beverages rather than vehicles for a psychoactive drug. But caffeine can exacerbate anxiety and panic disorders.”
Web MD

Today is the beginning of no caffeine (just writing that statement makes me want to cry!). My anxiety levels have been up recently and it’s becoming impossible to get a grip on it, so I’m determined to try this and see if it helps.

coff

When I set myself this challenge yesterday, I decided upon doing this for a week. Now, you might say a week isn’t enough to test whether or not it makes a considerable difference – and you’d probably be right – but caffeine is my biggest weakness, and so I need to say ‘a week’ to save my sanity. If I can get used to the idea a bit more during this time and find some good substitutes, I’d love to be able to continue it to see the full effects.

What contains caffeine?

  • Coffee
  • Tea
  • Chocolate
  • Many soft drinks
  • Many pain relievers

If anyone has any tips, tricks, or good substitutes to make my life a little easier – please let me know, and I’ll give you an update of how it’s gone on Sunday!

I’m now going to go and make a lovely cuppa! πŸ™‚Β Wait, no I’m not…

lovelauren

37 thoughts on “Day 1 – No caffeine

  1. lostprincess5 says:

    LOL!! – Why? Because I decided the same thing few minutes ago πŸ˜‰ Maybe partly for other reasons but your statement about it making you cry made me laughing hard as I said just a short time before to my kids that I wouldn’t know how to survive without coffee and sugar. So, knowing I’m not the only one struggling with such a decision makes it a tiny bit easier for me.
    I wish you all the best and hope you succeed πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. David Susman PhD says:

    I have gone the “no caffeine” route a few times and after the first couple of days it gets easier. I still enjoy the taste of coffee (especially Starbucks) and they have a very nice tasting decaf! Also I find the caffeine free soft drinks taste just fine.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nicole says:

    I found going caffeine free was really good for me. My mood is more stable throughout the day. If I want a hot drink in the morning I’ll sometimes have a chai or a peppermint tea. Good luck!

    Like

  4. MarthasMakeup says:

    I haven’t totally quit it — I tried cold turkey and it wasn’t pretty (but best of luck to you, I don’t mean to discourage) — but I have switched from energy drinks and coffee throughout the day to one cup of tea. It has helped a lot. I almost never take my anxiety med anymore, which I used to take twice per day. Really, I think you’ll see huge benefits in a week. Don’t be too hard on yourself though if you need a gentle cup of green tea or something! Especially in those first days.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Aidan says:

    Just to let you know, the amount of caffeine in most chocolate is so minute that it’s almost not worth mentioning. Dark chocolate has the most in it (when medical sites talk about chocolate, they are usually referring to dark chocolate) and it is better to avoid dark/semi-sweet/bitter-sweet if you’re cutting caffeine. You would have to eat an entire pound of milk chocolate to equal the amount of caffeine you’d find in a single 8oz cup of coffee. White chocolate contains virtually no caffeine at all. Of course, caffeine aside, all that sugar doesn’t help things.

    I think it’s great that you want to do this to improve your health (even if it doesn’t aid your anxiety, your physical body will thank you), but please be mindful of any side effects you might have. I’m sure you’ve read up on caffeine withdrawal symptoms.

    Drinking plenty of water should help curb cravings a bit. Eating a healthy diet of fresh vegetables and lean protein should help with energy. Exercising regularly can also help with balancing your mood and keeping your energy levels up.

    Good luck!

    Like

      • secretlystarving says:

        Sure! The DSM-5 has caffeine use disorder as a proposed disorder which you should look into! Im only doing my lit review as of now but i can email you the research ive compiled if you’d like. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • bylaurenhayley says:

        That would be really cool if you could please! Just find it all really interesting! I’m sure a lot of it will go straight over my head but the bits I understand will be interesting anyhow haha! And I will definitely look at that, thanks!

        Like

      • bylaurenhayley says:

        Awesome, no rush. Don’t feel like you have to if you’re not ready to show anyone yet. I just find this stuff interesting so I’d like to read anything you’ve got πŸ™‚

        Like

      • secretlystarving says:

        I sent you two of the studies, but i found a few more that are interesting! I’m working on my paper tonight, so once i get some more written, i’ll send it to you. I don’t care about it being ‘ready to show anybody’ since i’m not necessarily shy about my writing or anything….i just don’t want my writing to be pointless to send. If i don’t really have anything substantial (in terms of content) to send you, it would be pointless. You know? Let me know when you get those two articles though, and i’ll send you the other two i found! One of them is on attitudes towards caffeine in heavy users, which is absolutely fascinating! πŸ™‚ Like i said in the email, i have a TONNNNN of research on BPD, which i can also send you. It’s mostly about the neurology, trauma, biology, and whatnot if you’re interested in that. Just let me know and i’m more than willing to share! That paper only has two paragraphs done though since…..it’s really complex, haha. The HPA is a pain in the ass to write about in detail, when you’re talking about the cascade of events that lead to the decrease in hippocampal volume you find in BPD. Okay, i’ll stop ranting now. I need to get back to my homework. >.>

        Like

      • bylaurenhayley says:

        Haha I’ve got them – I haven’t had a chance to look at the studies yet but I’ve received the email! I will literally take whatever you have haha, I sound like such a scrounger! Make sure you do the work you need to before you email me again though, I am not being responsible for you getting behind haha! Thanks xx

        Like

  6. mybipolardisorder says:

    Not sure if it’s truly decaf but would that give you the satisfaction? Other than that I found a drink called XE. Its all natural, anti-oxidant rich and is AMAZING! It’s made by Xocai and has to be ordered, and costs about the same as a Starbucks (or similar) price. My husband and I both drink one everyday. It got him off coffee. Good luck on week 1

    Like

  7. prideinmadness says:

    I wish my partner would quit caffeine :p Good for you!

    I don’t have any suggestions for a good substitute as I don’t consume caffeine other then the small amounts in pop, chocolate and certain medications (and all of that is rare). BUT! if you experience withdrawal, hang in there! It WILL pass!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Joy says:

    Hey Lauren, I went completely caffeine free for over a year and I’m actually thinking about doing it again. Someone already mentioned it but the Starbucks decaf is REALLY good.

    Also, be warned. When you’re done ease yourself back in. I introduced caffeine back foolishly and it made me very sick.

    White tea is usually caffeine free and if you brew green tea at low temperatures it’s practically caffeine free as well.

    Good Luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. sheimbach says:

    When I first recognized that caffeine induced my anxiety attacks I knew it was something that I had to cut out of my diet. I lost 3 pounds in one month from it so that was definitely a positive. Other than that it was so tempting, you get tired and start falling asleep and everyones first remedy is have a cup of coffee, get an energy drink? and you just want to look at them and be like “do you know what that does to me?!” in a crazy wide eyed voice lol. The first week was hard, I am working on my 3rd month into getting off caffeine and now I can have a little here and there without it effecting my day greatly. I wish you the best of luck!

    Like

    • bylaurenhayley says:

      Thanks for commenting. I’m glad it really helps you anxiety wise though. I will be honest and admit to not doing as great as I’d of hoped. I’ve got an awful cold that started yesterday and the only things that make feel better when I’m ill are cuddles and tea! But I’ve definitely cut down a lot and as soon as I’m better it’s going! I need to test it properly because if it works for me it’s so worth it. Life is just too horrible with the level of panic I have everyday at the moment. My agoraphobia is growing rapidly!

      Like

  10. Bipolar Matriarch says:

    Reblogged this on bipolarmatriarch and commented:
    I’ve known this would be so good for me. Hearing someone else say it and challenge themselves, gives me inspiration to try it. I’ve already had two cups of coffee today. I’m definitely a caffeine addict. I will fight the urge the rest of the day. If it helps my anxiety it’s worth it right?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

