Caffeine Article – Healthline.com

The company Healthline.com are based in San Francisco and aim to offer accurate information on a range of health topics in an easy-to-understand way. Earlier today one of their members of staff contacted me in regards to an article that they thought I may find interesting due to coming across a previous post of mine, Day 1 – No caffeine.

As you will know if you’ve been following my blog for a while, I have taken it upon myself try to cut caffeine out of my life. Now, this is by no means an easy feat as my four biggest weaknesses are coke, tea, coffee and chocolate (nightmare, right?) – but nevertheless I thought it was important to try.

If you take a look at Healthline.com’s article, you will see that caffeine can cause a rapid or irregular heartbeat, and for me that can be incredibly frightening, as the feeling resembles a panic attack – which then inevitably makes me panic. It’s been a vicious cycle for a while now so for the last three weeks I’ve said bye-bye to caffeine – well, almost. 

I will admit, the odd can of coke has been consumed and the odd cup of coffee has been drunk; but nowhere near to the same extent of my previous caffeine habits. Has it made a difference? It’s hard to tell. But for right now I’m going to keep at it because if it can make a difference to my life, it’s so worth it.

cofe

There are so many other issues that come with caffeine though. It can affect so many parts of your body and I was completely oblivious to some of the facts presented in this article.

Who knew it could affect all these things? –

  • Central Nervous System
  • Digestive and Excretory Systems
  • Circulatory and Respiratory Systems
  • Skeletal and Muscular Systems
  • Reproductive System
    (Healthline.com, 2014)

Please check it out and let me know if you learn anything new. It’s a really interesting article! –

http://www.healthline.com/health/caffeine-effects-on-body

lovelauren

13 thoughts on “Caffeine Article – Healthline.com

  1. Shauna841505 says:

    Another side effect for women: It can cause cysts. I had one in my breast, that burst, and my doctor said it could have been from my caffeine intake (at that point I was drinking a lo-carb Monster every day). I stopped the Monsters, but I now drink one cup of coffee every morning! I wish I could go cold turkey! 😦

    Like

  2. lydiaa1614 says:

    Cudos to you for not only trying to stay away from it but also educating yourself on why!

    I have a real conundrum when it comes to caffeine. If I take it in any quantity at all, I get horrid migraines. However, the number one cure for migraines is…wait for it…caffeine. I have to be very sure when listing medications I am allergic to, or react to, that I add caffeine. The I have to be even more sure that they actually put it on the medication list and not just the food list. It is in Tylenol 2 & 3, which contain codeine. The other part of the conundrum is that caffeine can actually help my breathing in an asthma attack. So I basically stay away from it but keep a few Coke zero’s around (the little cans) in case I have trouble breathing. If I have one, I may get a mild headache but my breathing is usually better. As for chocolate, that is a battle I will have for life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bylaurenhayley says:

      I didn’t know about the breathing that’s interesting. Definitely worth keeping a few cans around like you say! Different things work for different people and it’s difficult to know what works for you – maybe reduce the amount of caffeine rather than cut it out in regards to your migraines?

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Aidan says:

    Caffeine is a drug like any other. It can seriously alter your psychological and physical well being. I’ve even seen articles comparing it to cocaine in its effects. It’s also the most commonly consumed self-administered recreational drug in the world. In small amounts it has benefits, but those vary based on the individual and it’s important to weigh the risks against the potential rewards!

    It’s fantastic that you’re taking such a great step to keep yourself healthy!

    The only thing I consume with caffeine is chocolate. I really should start cutting back, but I’m completely addicted!

    Like

  4. lifeofmiblog says:

    Good info…glad it’s you not me!
    Like butter, fat, sugar, salt, red meat, chicken, pork, alcohol, microwaves, fluoride, the air that we breath, etc, etc, everything is killing us, and I am not knocking you or the article in any way. In my more than half century, if I had stopped/avoided all the things that are killing me…I would be dead from eating/breathing boredom. Besides a truck might get me anyway!
    I guess what I am saying is that one thing that kinda cuts through everything is “MODERATION”. We don’t know enough about our bodies to go cutting things out completely, who knows what side affect that might have…besides the boredom factor.
    I was pleased to hear you had given in a little, that’s listening to your body. Caffeine reduction is a good idea, I do it myself from time to time just to feel the affect it has. Keep up the good work.

    Like

  5. The Agoraphobic Adventurer says:

    I gave up caffeine a couple of years ago for the same reasons you describe – I find that decaffeinated alternatives are pretty good. Not that I drank them much but I also found that fizzy drinks (even the caffeine free sugar free versions) were the biggest culprits for a racing heart and panic attack like symptoms so I gave them up too. If only I could give up chocolate! Good luck 🙂

    Like

  6. Amy says:

    When I was younger and had severe anxiety/panic attacks I completely cut out caffeine, except for the occasional small bit. It helped immensely. Now that I am post-menopausal and my thyroid is shot, I seem to have a huge tolerance for it and need it just to get moving. Haha. Funny how our body changes with time.

    Like

  7. Sophie says:

    This is really interesting! I’ve always found that caffeine majorly exacerbates my anxiety so it’s fascinating to actually read about the scientific effects it can have. 🙂

    Like

    • bylaurenhayley says:

      I found it interesting too. I read it when I was with boyfriend and he kept getting annoyed because I was like ‘Oh and another thing..’ you know when you have to share something you find interesting haha! I’m glad you liked it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

