#MHAW2015 next week! Let’s talk Mindfulness

Next week is Mental Health Awareness Week and this year’s topic is Mindfulness. For those of you that don’t know, I’m actually midway through studying for a Mindfulness diploma in order to become a registered practitioner, so this topic is spot on for me.

20150506_122605

Mindfulness is something that’s become of interest to me since my diagnosis of BPD, and also since my anxiety has got much worse. I now try to meditate every morning, but of course, anyone that has tried Mindfulness will know that it’s an incredibly difficult thing to do and it takes a lot of time and determination to do it successfully.

With that said, it appears to be very useful – especially to those of us suffering with mental health conditions. Therefore, next week I have put together a schedule to post everyday, providing you all with as much information as I can about the practice.

Monday: Introduction – What is Mindfulness
Tuesday:
Origins of Mindfulness
Wednesday: Who should use Mindfulness
Thursday: What Mindfulness does to help you
Friday: Does Mindfulness actually work? Pros and Cons
Saturday: Success stories
Sunday: My experiences with Mindfulness

If anyone has tried Mindfulness and is open to sharing their success stories or even negatives with the practice, please comment below as all information will be incredibly useful!

love lauren x

donate

20 thoughts on “#MHAW2015 next week! Let’s talk Mindfulness

      • martinclegg says:

        I’m very glad to read that you’re exploring this. I firmly believe that most of us would benefit from using mindfulness. The world would truly be a better place. Please keep talking about how you’re doing with this.

        Like

  1. wbdeejay says:

    I recently completed an 8 week mindfulness course, after 6 months of CBT counseling at the same centre.
    I had been struggling to deal with depression and anxiety after a cascade of life events over a couple years.
    While the familiar CBT helped to “take the sharp edge” off my internal struggles, it was the mindfulness that really helped me the most. Learning acceptance and observation of all that life presents, has given me tools to lessen the negativity criticism and rumination that was so prevalent.
    All the best for your studies and your life journey.

    Like

  2. C says:

    I was taught mindfulness in my early 20’s as one of many ways to cope with pretty severe PTSD. Of the skills and tools I was given at that point in my life, this one has been useful long after the recovery from the PTSD. I should probably try this with my current situations. It’s hard to gain perspective when surrounded by chaos.

    Like

  3. lifeofmiblog says:

    Can’t wait, I have had a few people enquiring about mindfulness and it will be good to hear what you learn. My ideas on it are very depression focused.

    Like

      • jamilouise says:

        I don’t mind at all. I have problems being in my head for one thing. Just recently I remembered having had a bad experience as a little kid with it. Was in a small group led by high school kids and they did and I was “handled” inappropriately. So, it’s a toss up… and I mean honestly… I can’t tell you really.

        Like

      • bylaurenhayley says:

        I mean the idea of Mindfulness is to just be in the present and not actually think so to be speak. It’s a difficult thing to do and an interesting comment. Keep checking out the posts and feel free to message me if you have any problems or questions! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • jamilouise says:

        I completely understand that… but the second I try to go there… get there there… it’s a mess…. it’s frightening really. I have an amazing therapist who’s partner specializes in mindfulness and I have tried many times… and I keep attempting to gooo to clinics and work him… uhhhh… I will keep checking things out.. Thank you Sweety 🙂

        Like

      • bylaurenhayley says:

        That’s a shame. The more you try these things the sooner your mind will recognise it’s not as scary as it thinks though – so keep at it and I hope you find some peace with the whole situation 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. talkingthisandthat says:

    I’m really impressed, I’m glad I came across this blog (through your visit to mine), thanks for visiting, by the way! Can I ask, how do I get a widget like that where people can donate by clicking from my page if they’re on my blog and feel the urge to do so?

    Like

Leave a Reply

