Guest Post for Lifeofmiblog

Here is the guest post I wrote for Michael at Lifeofmiblog earlier this week. Michael suffers with Depression and talks about this as well as many other topics on his blog – It’s fantastic, so please check it out!


dnd

I have Borderline Personality Disorder, Cyclothymia and severe anxiety. I have these things, but it’s important to remember that I am not these things.

You cannot allow the disorders that you have become you, because you undoubtedly lose enough of yourself due to them already. BPD makes me angry, touchy and sometimes aggressive with the people around me; Cyclothymia makes me manic, depressed and all things in between; and anxiety takes away my basic human rights, with crippling fear smothering me and therefore stopping me from doing anything with my life.

These could be (and sometimes are!) soul-destroying things to live with, and so if this is the only way we can identify ourselves, what’s left? What’s the point of being here? Instead, you have to think about the things that you are, instead of the things that you have.

I am motivated and ambitious, I’m sarcastic beyond belief, and I’m creative, artistic and I’m detail-orientated in everything I do. I fall in love easy, but I don’t make good friends often; those that are in my life will be forever. I’m stubborn – way too stubborn – and don’t let arguments go as quickly as I should. But everything I do I do whole-heartedly, putting all my effort into it; and yes – I’m one of those people that are crazy enough to think they can make a difference in the world.

So instead of becoming my disorders, I try to manage these things that I have so that they don’t become a part of my being. I try to control the obstacles and hurdles that my life is constantly throwing at me; it’s not a fair war if you don’t even try to defend and protect yourself. It’s not as easy as I’d like it to be (if it was, mental illness would cease to exist), and it feels like a never-ending battle, because just when I think I have something mastered, something else comes along.

Another fear, another episode, another month where everything becomes too much.

But I keep trying, and that’s the main thing. I keep striving and pushing, waiting for the world to reward me and give me a break. I study as much as I can about my disorders, I research, read and I study for a mindfulness diploma. I learn to meditate, source remedies and techniques to practise, and I write almost every day on my blog relaying my thoughts and letting them all out of my already-cluttered-brain. I paint, I draw, I exercise, I cut out caffeine, and I make an extra effort with those I love.

Researching my disorders has given me an understanding of what’s going on in my mind which is absolutely priceless to me and mindfulness teaches me to think in the moment, not allowing the past or future to influence where I am right now. Meditation slows my breathing down alongside the absence of caffeine, helping my anxiety beyond belief. Creativity and writing makes my mind joyous, exercise makes my body joyous, and people – well they’re a support system that I wouldn’t want to do without. The biggest mistake too many of us make is pushing those that love us out of our lives.

But most of all, regardless of all these things, I remember who I am and what I am. I remind myself of all the things that make me, me. And my somewhat poor mental health definitely isn’t even a small part of that. That’s all I can do. Some may say that it’s all a distraction, but I believe it’s just a part of the journey to recovery. Like with any other illness, we’re all just looking for a cure.

9 thoughts on “Guest Post for Lifeofmiblog

  1. dawnchorus22 says:

    Hello Lauren Hayley 🙂 Thank you for the like, I guess the mental health tag brought you over. I understand BPD, and my 18 year old daughter does too. I’ve taken to ‘getting spiritual’ to help me with my issues and my breakdown in 2008, and my blog is an experiment. Your blog is wonderful. Good luck with your health and take care. I absolutely get it. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • bylaurenhayley says:

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to comment and for the kind comments. I hope what you’re doing is working for you – and my blog is definitely an experiment also (as well as free therapy!) xx

      Like

  2. journeytomakingmoneyonline says:

    Wow, thanks for helping that guy out Lauren Hayley. As I understand it, you wrote this post for him, as him with his thought?

    Either way, as a man who suffers some of these from time to time, I thank you for helping him and others. We all need to get together and fight the illness.

    Ginger Pills are working amazingly for me, though. I cannot believe how much change a few weeks of taking a simple supplement. I have been surrounding myself around more and more crowds, events, etc, and my anxiety is down may 60% or more. So, leaving another 40% of…..

    Ginger Root 540 mg 100 Caps I can’t say enough about them; I will be taking time to blog about ginger pills and their helpful effects on anxiety, in a day or so.

    Note* I am definitely ‘NO EXPERT’ nor, a professional, though I do enjoy growing my knowledge in the illness, that I may know what I and many others deal with.

    Thanks, again Lauren Hayley.

    Like

  3. smswaby says:

    Lauren, I love your statement, “I have these things, but it’s important to remember that I am not these things.” You write honestly and bravely. Keep on the journey. I admire your courage to share your story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

