Article for REglam Magazine

Occasionally, I get emails/tweets from people out of nowhere, asking me to write something for them from a mental health angle. I’m almost always happy to contribute to what ever they have to offer because I love having the chance to write about something slightly out of my comfort zone, and it’s incredibly flattering that someone’s read my blog and appreciates my writing.

Anyway this time, it was the lovely Sem approaching me – founder of REglam magazine; asking me to contribute an article to the publication.

reglam

The only brief I got given was to base it around how the fashion industry affects people’s mental health, so I got busy right away researching as much information as I could find on the topic.

However, if I’ve ever done a guest blog for you before, you’ll know that I’m not very good at following instructions and I tend to go off on my own tangent no matter how much I try not to. And so with no hesitation, I held down the backspace on my laptop scrapping all the research I’d found, deciding not to use one bit of theory or one statistic in my article (typical Lauren!). Sure, Sem hadn’t specifically asked for research, but it’s the direction in which most other articles in her magazine go.

But instead, I wanted to make the article more personal. That’s my writing style. Occasionally I like to present you all with the facts, but on the whole I like to offer my opinion and let you all judge for yourselves whether you agree with me or not – and so that’s what I did for this.

me and mum

Anyway the article is completed now, and I will post a link as soon as it’s been published! I hope you look forward to reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

7 thoughts on “Article for REglam Magazine

    • ezi2015 says:

      I look forward to seeing your article. But yeah I could imagine how hard it could be to write for someone else. They have a topic you are expected to write about , whereas when you write for yourself the floor is yours. But I am sure your article will be great. It would be interesting to see how the fashion industry does affect ones mental well being .

      Liked by 1 person

  1. lifeofmiblog says:

    I agree with the others, can’t wait. I also agree about the writing, all the research can turn the article into someone else’s, much better if it is your own.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

