Stuck to the Ground

Yesterday after researching for a while I came across this video from Dr. Harry Barry explaining to Panic Away how to manage and stop panic attacks from happening.

I found it really interesting because he takes a different approach in many of his theories to what a lot of us have heard over and over again. For example, he recommends not using breathing exercises during a panic attack as it reaffirms to your body that you’re in a dangerous situation and therefore makes the anxiety worse.

It’s much more about facing the panic and getting rid once and for all, rather than masking it with various distractions.

Anyway the reason I’m sharing this with you is because nothing for me so far has worked, and I know many of you have tried countless therapies, medications, remedies, techniques – and you haven’t made much progress either. I am in no way recommending that you follow this way of thinking (especially if it interferes with treatment that you are currently undergoing – please take a professional’s advice first), but for me I now have nothing to lose and everything to gain. I have no other options left.

Please watch it and let me know your thoughts.

15 thoughts on “Stuck to the Ground

  1. lizziecarver says:

    That’s really interesting, Lauren. I know when I am working with people with phobias, I am clear that they are afraid of the fearful feelings and that those feelings have become, almost accidentally, attached to an object which then acts as a trigger into the feelings. But soon the feelings can be triggered even by thinking about the object – it feeds on itself because the fearful feelings are so very uncomfortable.
    Grounding is a really important tool that I teach and so I was interested to hear Dr Barry say “stick to the ground” and, effectively, allow the fearful feelings. I think, in the end, he is right – although it can feel as though you are dying, no one has ever died of a panic attack. It is the body’s attempt to keep us safe, but because we become afraid of it, it gets to be on a hair trigger. Given that its purpose is “fight or flight”, it’s no wonder we run from it!
    I’ll be very interested to hear how you get on with this approach.

    Like

  2. dimdaze says:

    This method works for me when I catch the attack before I am in to it. I know my triggers and can often stop the attack before fear takes over. It takes work. You need to learn your triggers.

    Like

  3. zaracaz says:

    Now that was an interesting way to deal with it, and I think that dimdaze gives a very important piece of information as well. By adding two and two it is perfectly reasonable that it’s not dangerous at all and that we can sense and learn our triggers. But as people have stated in the comments and in the clip, the tricky part is to learn the triggers and stop it before it breaks out. Not to mention that it is not dangerous, something that I really have to work on and try remember if that’s the case. Good luck and thank you for a very interesting share Lauren.

    Like

  4. bipolarsojourner says:

    isn’t it nice to discovers new tools that work? it is for me. i went over two years without discovering any new tool and that sucked. I discovered the new tools I talk about below and i did an 180.

    two enthusiastic 👍👍! it is very similar to a tedtalk by kelly mongical an the application of acceptance as it applies to stress. This is what happen to me the first time i used it, and my realization that this can be appliedto emotions, primarily bring-me-down emotions, since those are scary emotion from which people tend to run.

    all of these are based on the idea of acceptance. let’s face it, when we do physical exertion, bodily functions change like heart rate, breathing, blood flow, hormone levels. those same things can happen when we run from a perceived danger. those bodily changes, which have been programmed into us as a warming, get turned into a majorly massive call of danger, danger danger! these changes are just indicators.

    all these forms of, as I call them, acceptance therapies, teach me to treat these nemesis no different than say a lovely butterfly.

    Like

  5. stitchx0 says:

    Thanks for sharing! I deal with anxiety and panic attacks regularly; knowing my triggers helps but sometimes it’s impossible to predict. I love new coping mechanisms!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. stitchx0 says:

    Reblogged this on i am stitchx0; and commented:
    I really loved this post by Lauren Hayley presenting Dr. Barry’s tips for managing panic attacks.

    I’ve suffered from panic attacks for the last decade or so, with them being the worst in the last five years. I have a prescription that I can use as-needed but I didn’t like the idea of depending on a medication. I spent a lot of time learning my triggers and then avoiding them. Sometimes even when I do everything ‘right’ I still end up panicking. Most recently I felt one come up at a concert and had to, immediately, find a secluded area to get myself under control.

    I’m definitely adding these skills to my repertoire. Thanks for the post, Lauren!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

